Best Books I Read in 2015


I read over 60 books this year. Although I averaged less than one physical book a week, I also trained for a half-marathon and listened to a lot of these on tape while training. They were divided pretty evenly into three categories: genre fiction (sci-fi, fantasy, romance, mystery, etc), literary fiction, and nonfiction. This post is not to be confused with Best Books of 2015. Instead of doing a list, I’ll give each of the best books an award that indicates what made it stick out to me.

Best Overall: Hyperion by Dan Simmons.

This book cannot easily be described. It pulls together several sci-fi elements that made me skeptical at first. Anything that deals with time manipulation, particularly time moving backwards, usually makes me groan. This cleverly makes it work.

The mystery is brought up early, and the narration is done through a sequence of stories. Each story hints at different pieces, but are wildly different in tone, style, time frame, and reference point. Each story is excellent in its own right. Together they form a beautiful non-traditional narrative.

Simmons is not only a master at suspense and mystery, but proves he can create a timeless work of art that still feels fresh and original 25 years later.

Most Surprising: The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James.

What a truly ahead of its time book. I hate most of the traditional “marriage plot” novels like Pride and Prejudice, Wuthering Heights, and so on. Even though this looks like such a novel on the surface, it goes deep into issues that plague us still.

Some of the basic questions explored include but are not limited to: Is marriage a partnership of equals? What is the purpose of marriage? Do you lose some autonomy when you choose to get married? What does it mean to live a meaningful life? How should one balance work, a career, and leisure? Is one ever truly free in one’s actions? Is clothing an expression of the self? Does being a rebel subject you to being manipulated more strongly than someone that appears to go with society’s expectations? How does money affect relationships? How does one balance the life of the mind with the living of life?

The writing is also fantastic. It is dense and mature but not impenetrably so. The plot moves along through dialogue, and is not nearly as wordy and dull as many would have you believe (unless the above questions don’t interest you). I find Austen far more difficult to slog through than this.

Anyway, The Portrait of a Lady is an excellent examination of life’s toughest questions that seems even more relevant today than back when it was written.

Most Thought-Provoking: Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell.

I had never read anything by Gladwell despite hearing his name come up all the time. This book will make you think hard about everything you thought you knew about how to be successful. The stories are interesting and provide counterintuitive examples. I have to wonder if this book is an outlier of Gladwell’s work, because I then picked up The Tipping Point and found every aspect of it subpar.

Best Characters: Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood.

I blogged a full review of it here.

2 thoughts on “Best Books I Read in 2015

  1. I like your categories. I also read outliers and found it really interesting. I don’t know if you’ve read tipping point by the same author but that too, was fascinating.

  2. Yes. I almost immediately picked up The Tipping Point. Unfortunately, I found it way less interesting. It was probably still a good book, but it was tainted by my expectations. The stories and causes seemed pretty obvious, and I was hoping for that wow factor from Outliers.

Leave a Reply

