7DRL Dev Log Day 4


Today I’ve put in some more details, but I still haven’t gotten around to programming the final fight, so the game technically goes on forever right now. I plan to do that first thing tomorrow.

I added another weapon and a bunch more items, which will be one of the main things that keep repeated plays interesting. The weapon was a spear (technically a bident) which can damage enemies at range.

I’ll keep the items a mystery, but I will say that items all have positive effects. This choice came from two places. The first is that in a “one HP” roguelike, you cannot have much by way of negative effects without causing an unfair death.

The second is that I really want everything identifiable on sight, because part of the strategy is to make hard choices about what to use and what to keep. You have a weapon slot and a spacebar item slot (in my head these correspond to what you hold in your two hands).

Since the maze has no backtracking, you can’t bring two really good items with you. Items are fairly sparse, which I like. The game should be beatable without any, so finding something will make the run more enjoyable and safer.

I also implemented the dragon I drew last time into the game. Again, today’s changes were mostly behind the scenes, so there isn’t really a screenshot that helps you see what has happened. Instead, I’ll post a video with sample gameplay.

Don’t watch if you want to experience it yourself. I’ve gotten a lot of standard movement patterns down after playing it a bunch, so I might spoil how to handle lots of situations.

Leave a Reply

