Best and Worst 2008…so far


It is half-way through the year, so I’ll sum up the best and worst albums that have released so far. Of course, this is my opinion and I’ll get on to NCG tomorrow. Just thought I’d list without too much commentary. If you want to contest one of them just comment.

Great:
Bon Iver: For Emma, Forever Ago
Elbow: The Seldom Seen Kid
Lightspeed Champion: Falling off the Lavender Bridge
Portishead: Third
Son Lux: At War with Walls and Mazes

Good:
Coldplay: Viva La Vida
Extra Life: Secular Works
Mates of State: Re-arrange Us
Wolf Parade: At Mount Zoomer

Disappointments:
Black Mountain: In the Future
Death Cab for Cutie: Narrow Stairs
Nada Surf: Lucky
The Black Keys: Attack and Release
Vampire Weekend: Vampire Weekend

So this was off the top of my head. I may be missing stuff. Things to note. This is of the stuff I listen to, so none of it is truly bad. That’s why I labeled it “disappointments.” It is more they didn’t live up to their past accomplishments, or the hype was more than the delivery.

Other notes: The Black Keys, Black Mountain, and Wolf Parade are usually spoken of together. I find the first two to be rehashing of prog rock in an unoriginal and boring way. The Wolf Parade style is very original and complicated at times allowing it into the “good” section. I’d say that of the greats, Bon Iver and Portishead deserve an “extra great” section for defying all convention and being at the same time able to move you beyond belief. Yes, the new Death Cab album is horrible.

Things I haven’t heard, but probably should due to hype: The Dodos, The Magnetic Fields, Devotchka, Panic! at the Disco, Sigur Ros, She & Him, and uh, Scarlett Johansson recorded an album?!?

Leave a Reply

