A Mind for Madness

Musings on art, philosophy, mathematics, and physics

Music 09 First Half

1 Comment


It is halfway through the year and thus time to present my thoughts on the music so far. As I did last year, I’m going to not give actually place rankings, just general categories. May as well do the COMAP ranking system.

Outstanding:
The Antlers – Hospice
Decemberists – The Hazards of Love
Doves – Kingdom of Rust

Meritorious:
Andrew Bird – Noble Beast
Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
Loney, Dear – Dear John
Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

Honorable Mention:
Dan Deacon – Bromst
The Field – Yesterday and Today
Neko Case – Middle Cyclone

Successful Participant:
Bon Iver – Blood Bank EP
Duncan Sheik – Whisper House
M. Ward – Hold Time
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz!

Some preliminary hilarious things to note are that despite Bon Iver being my number 1 best album of last year, it got the lowest ranking possible this year. Also, The Field is the only band I’ve ever liked an album so much that I actually wrote an Amazon review for it.

I attribute some of the uncharacteristic placements to the past couple of months in which my musical tastes having been doing an utterly complete shift. Also, what I consider to be great has a few extra components to it that it didn’t used to have which knocked Bird and Phoenix out of the top ranking.

Overall, I’ve had very few full albums I love from this year. Neko Case and M. Ward both have some of my favorite songs, but also have enough of songs that I just can’t stand that it was hard to rank as a full album.

So here is an individual favorite song list:

Andrew Bird – Anonanimal
Animal Collective – My Girls
Antlers – Wake
Dan Deacon – Get Older
Decemberists – Hazards of Love 4
Doves – Lifelines
M. Ward – Blake’s View
Neko Case – Red Tide
Phoenix – Lisztomania!

As usual. If you’re list looks at all similar to this, I’d love to hear about things you love that I may have missed/overlooked.

That’s all for now. I’ve made significant headway on Consciousness Explained so that will start up soon.

Author: hilbertthm90

I write about math, philosophy, literature, music, science, computer science, gaming or whatever strikes my fancy that day.

One thought on “Music 09 First Half

  1. Oh man, I only have one album on your list! Incidentally, “Anonanimal” is my favorite from that record too, mainly due to the slowed down “you know I know this one, I know this song” section in the middle.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers